Working on a research on Diversity and Open Source Community, may need your generous help!

Hi there,

I am new here and it is great to meet you guys. I am a student at the University of Zurich and currently working on a project named “Diversity and its Impact on Open Source Community”. I am wondering how you will respond to such research? Any comments/reviews/advice are welcome!

Here are the manuscripts, not done yet.

https://yaonotes.org/manuscripts/ongoing/

4 Likes

Hi @xzyao, this is really interesting work! Thanks for sharing it here. :raised_hands:

I looked through this and I was interested in how variety diversity is defined as developers, administrators, and active users. I don’t have access to the 2012 paper from Daniel, Agarwal, and Stewart, but I am skeptical that this definition captures the full picture. In a healthy open source community, there are many types of roles: from code developers and graphic designers, to UI/UX designers and technical writers, and the project managers / issue triagers. So my concern with this definition is that it does not accurately capture the full picture of the type of work that happens in an open source community.

Because of the feminization of specific types of labor in computing, this research would be more useful for me to also understand how gender is factored into the types of work done in open source communities.

Recently I found an article via Twitter making a case for a Chief Experience Officer in organizations. Taking an intersectional look at the history of gender in computing and the valuable non-engineering aspects of open source communities, is there a correlation to what participation in modern open source projects looks like? I would really like to know the answer to this question!

As far as getting more formal academic feedback or eyes on your article, perhaps @GeorgLink might know of some resources to point you towards?

I hope this feedback is useful. I hope to hear more about your work. :smile: